Invisable, but a Monster None the Less

By Kathleen Kline

(C)

I fear the monster that has been lingering in the shadows.

It is a complex and toxic monster.

Is it an ordinary monster?

My story is not unlike others out there.

It has, undeniably, caused my movements to become slow and purposeful,

Lethargic, Sloth-like.

There are times I struggle putting one foot in front of the other.

But struggle I do.

I will honor my responsibilities.

I will honor my gift.

No matter that I feel the monster creeping up on me.

The monster looms ever nearer to thee.

I have decided to walk, one foot in front of the other, even though I would like to run,

I hope I have made the right decision.

I do not have the strength to fight much more.

I feel the monster it is laying in waiting.

I fear it will consume me.

The visits come more frequently.

And I feel the loss of self … looming, like a stalker in the night.

I push the monster away, but it is getting stronger.

I am faltering under its tenacity.

As I fall on bent knees I pray I do not implode.

I feel it trying to take over.

I pray the monster does not win, but fear it will.

Grief.

Leave a Reply

