Days 6 — Six Sounds I Love or Hate

June 6, 1944. The Young Men’s Christian Association (YMCA) was founded in London?

Are you a fan of the song YMCA by The Village People? Or do you hate it?

Write about and share six songs or artists you love or six songs you hate. This is a chance to learn how to embed media in a post.”

My 6 telltale sounds:

  1. One sound I love is the cry of a newborn baby. Some folks are irritated with new mums who don’t stop their babies from crying, but not me… there is a distinct tenner to a newborn baby’s cry who is just pissed at the world because he/she is hungry and they don’t yet understand, for example, that mum can’t stop in the middle of the store and feed them. It is one sound that makes this mommy smile at such a wonderful sound.
  2. The sound of a light wind through the trees, now that is a sound that is relaxing to me. The wind has its own music and when it lightly pushes the leaves around on… Aspens, Polar and Maple type trees it soothes something in me.
  3. A hawk’s cry and the wwhhoooppp wwwhhhhooooopp wwwhhooopp of his/her wings as they cut through the air that is most often accompanying the cry. I live in a mountain area. I am blessed with raptors of many variety and am blessed with the sight of Golden Eagles, California Condors, Turkey Vultures, some Bald Eagles, Red Tailed Hawks, Crows and Ravens in the Cummings Valley.
  4. The sound of light music. For example, Ray Charles’s version of “Georgia on My Mind”. Just a few bars in and my heart swells. You see, it is a song that my son came to love. There are other songs too, that I would not know if it were not for one of my three children introducing them to me. (It worked out to be a great trade-off for us all.) Those songs I like. I like hearing the Piano rendition of “Overdue” by David somebody. And then there are the songs from Phantom of the Opera, my youngest beauty loves that production and the music from it. And hearing it makes me smile again and again.
  5. The sound of my dogs’ claws ticking on the tile floor when they think they’ve heard something and they just know they need to come see what it is.
  6. The sound of silence – this sound causes me to be filled with mixed pleasures and pain. I used to love getting on a horse and heading across the pasture, up into the mountains, etc., hearing the silence of all around me – except the wind and the hoof-falls of the horse. I used to love the air devoid of anything hitting my eardrums, too.

    But then there came a time when the silence was scary (during the years the kids and I were stalked). Then I found myself, my mind, my ears searching for sounds. Searching so much that I began playing music or the TV in the background most to help my mind get some rest, when it could.

    The silence became painful there for a while – after the death of my son. Even driving to and from work was difficult, to say the least. For weeks, if not months, I had to be “talked to work” and “talked home” by one of my family members. Then came the last 12 months that my house has been empty of children. As the girls spread their wings and find their own way I find the house silent. It’s taken a while, but now, now I am pleased to announce I am finding myself not even turning on the radio for background noise. It is the silence that I am finding comfort in, once again, and this makes my heart sing again.

    What do you find easy or hard to listen to?

Leave a Reply

