Day 28 of the June Challenge

Twenty-eight Dominoes

June 28, 1914. Archduke Franz Ferdinand of Austria, the heir to the Austro-Hungarian throne, was assassinated in Sarajevo along with his wife, Duchess Sophie. This assassinated started a domino effect resulting in World War I.

There are 28 dominoes in a full set of dominoes. Do you like to play dominoes? Do you like to play games? Why or Why not? What are your favorite games? Tell us about a time you played a game with friends or family.
Or write about The Big Game from your high school or college days.”

So … Do I like playing games…? NO!

I grew up playing cards with mom, grandma and the sisters. I even played tri-dominos with my grandma Kay. But my love of playing games fell away and I don’t even know when. My enjoyment for playing games, the challenge was still around when I was 23. That is when I tried out for and was on the gameshow – Super Password – back in 1986. I played well, well enough to become a retired 5-time undefeated champion. But I wonder if that was when my game playing enjoyment began to fade.

I became a person who was not a game player.

Some may say, often it was my children who I heard saying it in different ways, I am too serious in life. It was needed back then. But stalking can have that affect on a gal.

I remember … there was this one time, in 2001 — I remember when I felt forced to learn to play the color bubble game on the computer, yep, by my kids. I felt forced at the time. But I really tired to learn to relax and do something to affirm life.

“Come on mom, you can learn to play it. We’ll teach you!”

The kids repeated often. So I relented in hopes of getting them off my back. After all, I could no longer resist the willing encouragement from my two beauties.

A week later my son, Ethan, age 10-ish lead the troops into the house from school. Kayla, 8, was right on his heals when they found me sitting at the computer and he said with much surprise, “Mom, what are you doing?”

I looked up, a bit of guilt in my eyes, “I am playing the game you taught me to play,” my cheeks became flush as I looked to see the glee in his expression. Both he and Kayla gather around me in disbelief with giggles. I know they thought I must be just hammering out another article. But to their surprise… I really was playing the game they had encouraged me to learn to play.

So now, even with the empty nest, when I am board and want a bit of that happiness back… I find a modern game associated with colored bubbles and I download it and play it in memory of that once joyous time.

Oh for the colored bubbles my kids just knew they could teach me to play with. ❤

2 thoughts on “Day 28 of the June Challenge

  1. I come from a family who loves game playing. Whether it was Gin Rummy or a game of croquet in the backyard, enjoying each other’s company, with a little bit of competition thrown in, was the highlight of my youth. As I grew older I played Scrabble with my mother and sister’s. Mom was an excellent player and on a few occasions I beat her. I haven’t lost my desire to play games even though most games are played in a solitary fashion rather than face-to-face. I miss those days, gathered around the table playing Monopoly until 2 in the morning. I would pretty much bet that late night Monopoly playing is a thing of the past.
    I still play an occasional round of Bunco and wouldn’t turn up a game of Cards Against Humanity.

  2. Malanie ~ I now live alone… the dogs don’t even like to play catch LOL. But I will admit, this challenge made me smile and remember the days of play Bull Sh** with my mum and sisters and Grandma Bert at the house in Yosemite… and Monopoly with my kids and in-laws (extremely competitive group there).

    Thanks for helping me smile today.

Leave a Reply

